Saturday, September 18, 2010

Day 4, 5, 6

Too much work trying to keep everything updated. Facebook, Flickr, Blog. But i've been having fun with my camera lately, but i need some fresh new ideas for some photos.

Anyways, here is day 4, 5, 6 of my 365 challenge.


DAY 4!

I'm still getting used to these early mornings. It doesn't help that I'm up late either.




DAY 5!

JAMMING SESSION WITH JONNY AND TREVOR! Sooo much fun. I rented a multi-pattern condensor mic, set all our equipment up, and jammed the night away.


DAY 6!

Just bored. lol




I'll try and update regularly.

Ciao for now.

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

The most important meal of the day


I almost forgot to take my 365 picture last night. So I decided to take my pic before I left this morning for school. I forgot to have my breakfast yesterday, and i was dying through my morning class. I realize how important breakfast is to my academic performance in class now. So my pic today is of my breakfast, yummy cereal! 

I just got out of my ED-FX class, and it is very interesting. I was still a little unsure of my decision to pursue teaching as a career, but this class just gets me more and more excited to finish my degree. 

The teacher showed us a video off Youtube of this guest speaker talking to a huge audience. the speaker is in grade 5. This video has boosted my desire to teach. just watch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAMLOnSNwzA

It is amazing.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Future Career

I've been thinking a lot lately about my future career. I'm in the Bachelor of Education program at Grant MacEwan at the moment, and I'm aspiring to become a teacher. I'm actually excited about this. I look forward to my classes and the overall idea of being a teacher.

Tomorrow i have my ED-FX class, and it's actually pretty cool. We're pretty much creating a school within the classroom. We've divided up the class according to our desired majors and we've created a school with teachers for the K-12 system. It's actually pretty well rounded, we have teachers for every course except for math haha. no one wants to be a math teacher. I like this class the most so far because it's giving me an idea of what my first few months of teaching with be like. We're preparing the classroom as we would if it were our first day teaching. We're creating the environment, the tone, and the overall feel of the classroom so that it is inviting for new students. I read a quote earlier this week about teaching,  " How can we open the minds of others, if we do not keep an open mind ourselves?" I really like this because it reminds me that if i become a teacher, i have to maintain an open mind to all the possibilities and create my own way of teaching, one that works for my unique students.

Anyways... Here is day 2 of Operation 365. Enjoy!


Monday, September 13, 2010

Operation 365

Firstly i would like to start off by apologizing for not updating anything for quite some time. I'm Sorry. I'll have you know that i have been good. Things are going well. I'm just starting my second week of school, and i love my classes so far. In case you were wondering, I'm taking Bachelor of Education. but anywhooooo... that;s not what this post is about. This post is about OPERATION 365!! What is operation 365??!?!  you might be asking yourself right now. Well, i'll tell you. Op 365 is a personal photo blogging challenge where you try to capture yourself in a photo once per day for an entire year!! O_O wow Dylan, you're conceited. no one wants to see a picture of you everyday. T___T you guys are soo mean. Well i'll have you know this will be my second attempt to complete this difficult and committing task. My first attempt was pretty good. I was 96 days in. That's not bad. but this time i'm going to try and go for the full 365! give me your support, remind me, and join me if you think you got what it takes. You can follow my progress on Flickr and Facebook (maybe if i ever get around to uploading). And for those of you who feel like joining in, send me a link.

Well that's all for now, time for me to get back to studying.

Cheers,

~Dylan

Oh yeah, tell me what you think of my new haircut =)

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

A new sense of Self Accomplishment

Man, what a week! 

So i just got back from a 3 day trip to Banff. Leo had been planning this bike trip for Terence and I for about 6 months now. We got lucky and were able to stay at a friends Condo in Banff. IT'S NICE!!! Such a nice view too. So we left Sunday right after church, packed up the bikes, all our supplies and hit the road. 4 1/2-ish hours later, we're unpacking and exploring the condo in amazement. The Yongs came too! Michy, Mel, Jia, Pastor Steven, and Auntie Violet.

The Girls were our support drivers, they carried all our food and water. We pretty much just relaxed the first night, we ate our pasta and went to bed.

A pic of the Condo


Monday (also known as D-DAY!). 6:30am
We get up, eat our oatmeal and raisins, hydrate, gear up, and head out! but not before a team photo from Auntie Violet. Start time, 7:30am. It's cold. We start off with a nice downhill out of town. It's soo cool that my fingers start to go numb, but I'm soo pumped it doesn't matter. Before our first rest stop we hit a VERY nice downhill. I clocked in at 72.3km/hr! What a rush! The girls got a little lost and we ended up waiting for them for about 25min.

Leg 2 of our trip begins! 9:00am. Leo tells us to just follow the road, and turn at CASTLE JUNCTION. I was biking right behind Leo, Terence had stopped to fix his breaks or something. So we're heading down the road, I'm looking everywhere for the sign to CASTLE JUNCTION. All the sudden Leo turns, apparently we were at CASTLE JUNCTION. There was no sign. Everyone missed the turn. We had lost Terence. We didn't actually realize we lost him till 11:00am. The girls finally found us, (after realizing they missed the turn at CASTLE JUNCTION) and we had lunch. After eating we sent them off to find Terence, cause at this point we had no cell coverage.

leg 3. 11:30am. Leo and I head out after refilling our water and stocking up on granola bars. We weren't sure when we would see the girls again. At this point we were had covered about 60km. We eventually ran out of water and had to stop by a nearby stream. It was hot. Don't worry, we didn't drink the water straight out of the stream. Leo had some water tablets that sterilized the water, but gave it some weird after taste. The only downfall was that it took 30 min to sterilize. ONWARDS WE PUSHED! After several hours of cycling and no sight of the girls, Leo and I had made it to the last vital rest stop before Sinclair's pass. Our 10km uphill climb -____-

It's 3:00pm and we finally see the girls pull up. But no sign of Terence in the vehicle. Don't worry, Terence is alive. He apparently didn't know he was going the wrong way until he reached Lake Louise, then he doubled back and continued on route. The Girls met up with him, forced him to eat and replenished his water.

He was supposed to get a ride back to us, but he wanted to go all the way. *by the way, we're cycling from Banff to Radium Hot Springs BC.* Even though Terence wants to continue cycling, he's about 2-3 hours behind us. Although he still has roughly the same amount of mileage since he didn't stop. So after eating and replenishing everything, Leo sent them back to pick Terence up and bring him to the dreaded Sinclair's Pass.

4:00pm. We have already skipped leg 4 and 5 and were now starting on leg 6, (We were supposed to stop and rest at each leg) the final Leg. Terence isn't back yet, but Leo and I can't wait. We begin our ascend. It's slow -___- but the view is magnificent. Apparently about 6 km up there's a fake summit, it kinda plateaus out and gives you hope. Then you continue around the corner only to see that it keeps on climbing. I had overtaken Leo at the base of the climb and made it to the top in about 45 min. The girls were waiting. I wait for Leo and Terence so we can descend the hill together. This is the best part of the trip by far. The last 10km. ALL DOWNHILL. Right into Radium Hot Springs! We had to be going about 80km. we were whipping past cars. We were going soo fast i think the wind damaged my hearing. But it was such a rush.


Roughly 5:15pm. We Packed up our bikes, grabbed our trunks, and went into the hot springs to relax our exhausted muscles. hahah they also had this mini mystery pool which is either filled with fresh hot spring water, or fresh glacier water. Today was Glacier day. Leo and I dared each other to go in and fully submerge ourselves. IT WAS FREEZING! But the day was coming to a close and a new sense of self accomplishment had been achieved.

We head back to Banff in the vehicle, reliving our freshly travelled journey, commentated by Leo, Terence and Myself. What a day. When we get back we decide to eat out instead of trying to cook. We go to some Thai restaurant. I get one of the more white things on the menu. Smoked Atlantic Salmon with yam fries. I only got it because of the fries.

Day 3! We get up reallly early and clean the place up. we leave just before 9am. Leo has meetings he needs to prepare for. We say our good byes to Banff and head out on the road for a long long drive back to E-town.

Banff was Beautiful.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Interviews

So, as most of you may know, i've been looking for a job for about 2 months now. I've had several interviews already but no luck. The last couple of weeks have been pretty depressing cause I haven't received any call backs and nothing has seemed promising.

I decided to drop off a few resumes yesterday. I dropped one off at Le Chateau Outlet, Mexx, and Best Buy. Well later last night I got a phone back from all 3 and now have interviews for tomorrow and Thursday. Let's hope they go well. I hear Best Buy pays more, but i kinda want the discount for Le Chateau. We'll see.

Monday, July 12, 2010